WFOP Annual Sponsored Contests

WFOP sponsors four annual poetry contests:

  1. Chapbook Contest for chapbooks published by Wisconsin poets

  2. Muse Prize, open to all Wisconsin poets (you do not need to be an WFOP member)

  3. Student Contest for Wisconsin middle and high school students

  4. Triad Contest, open only to WFOP members

  5. Wisconsin Poets’ Calendar, open to to all all Wisconsin poets (you do not need to be an WFOP member)

Submission Period: November 1 - January 31, 2020
Guidelines & How to Enter
Learn More

Deadline: January 11, 2020
Guidelines & How to Enter

Deadline: February 1, 2020
Open to Members and Non-Members Starting September 1, 2019
Guidelines & How to Enter
This Year’s Judge

Deadline: January 31, 2020
Guidelines & How to Enter
This Year’s Judge

Poet's Choice Award | Theme Award | Kay Saunders Emerging Poet Award
Theme: History
Deadline: August 15, 2019 ** Now Closed **
Guidelines & How to Enter
This Year's Judges

2019 Results

1st Place: Canoeing a River with No Name by Ronnie Hess
2nd Place: The True Story by Gillian Nevers
1st H.M.: Drunk with Illumination by Sharon Foley
2nd H.M.: Reality Changes with the Willy Nilly Wind by Susan M. Heubner


1st Place: Jeri McCormic for “A Miner Decides”
2nd Place: Jan Chronister for “Robert Burns Recalled”
3rd Place: Gail Sosinsky for “First Meeting with the Psychologist”
1st H.M.: Thomas Erickson for “Epidemic”
2nd H.M.: C.L. Nehmer for “From Behind Glass”
3rd H.M.: Maryann Hurtt for “Reading to Senta Who Survived the Holocaust”

2018 Muse Prize Winning Poems

2018 Results


Eric Nelson judged the 69 entries in the Poets’ Choice category.

  • 1st place: Crystal Spring Gibbins for “Lake Sturgeon”

  • 2nd place: Gary Haren for “Louie's Place”

  • 3rd place: Martha Kaplan for “West Fork of the Kickapoo River”

  • 1st H.M.: Judy Kolosso for “Her Last Pocketbook”

  • 2nd H.M.: Andrea Potos for “Some Questions on Ireland, After”

  • 3rd H.M.: Joyce M. Latham for “Eurydice”

Anita Skeen judged the Kay Saunders Memorial New Poet category. There were 30 entries.

  • 1st Place: Marilyn Windau for “Undisturbed”

  • 2nd Place: William McConnell for “White Dinner Jacket”

  • 3rd Place: R Chesney for “Homecoming for the Ages”

  • 1st H.M.: Ed Block for “Nature’s Due”

  • 2nd H.M.: Gene James Gilbert for “Crosswords”

  • 3rd H.M.: Mary C. Rowin for “At the Oriental Pharmacy, Six Blocks from Lake Michigan”

Steve Klepetar judged the 66 entries in the theme contest for the theme, Small Talk.

  • 1st Place: Sandra J. Lindow for “Darning”

  • 2nd Place: Crystal Spring Gibbins for “Re: Wild”

  • 3rd Place: Maryann Hurtt for “Smitten”

  • 1st H.M.: Mary C. Rowin for “Only Connect”

  • 2nd H.M.: William McConnell for Jairus’ Daughter

  • 3rd H.M.: Kathryn Gahl for “Two Fireflies”