2019 Triad Contest

Theme Award | Poet’s Choice Award | Kay Saunders Emerging Poet Award

Submission Period: June 1 - August 15, 2019


The deadline for the Triad contest is August 15th. Please consider entering poems in the Poets’ Choice, Theme, and Kay Saunders Emerging Poet categories (for poets who have begun to submit/publish their work, but have not won a poetry contest as an adult). The theme for the Theme Category is "History." Rules and entry form are here. Winners will be notified before the fall conference, and awards will be given at the conference.


Michelle Brittan Rosado

Michelle Brittan Rosado

POET'S CHOICE AWARD: Michelle Brittan Rosado is the author of Why Can’t It Be Tenderness, which won the Felix Pollak Prize in Poetry selected by Aimee Nezhukumatathil (University of Wisconsin Press, 2018). Her chapbook, Theory on Falling into a Reef, won the inaugural Rick Campbell Prize (Anhinga Press, 2016). Her poems have been published in venues like the Alaska Quarterly ReviewIndiana ReviewPoet LoreSan Francisco Chronicle’s “State Lines” column, and The New Yorker, as well as several anthologies. She has received awards and fellowships from the Academy of American Poets, Community of Writers at Squaw Valley, Sustainable Arts Foundation, and the Vermont Studio Center. Born in San Francisco, she earned an MFA in Creative Writing from California State University, Fresno, and is currently a PhD candidate in Creative Writing & Literature at the University of Southern California. 

Lynn Powell

Lynn Powell

THEME: Lynn Powell is the author of the poetry collections Season of the Second Thought, winner of the 2017 Felix Pollak Prize in Poetry from the University of Wisconsin Press; Old & New Testaments, winner of the Brittingham Prize in Poetry and the Great Lakes Colleges Association’s New Writers Award; and The Zones of Paradise. Her poems have been published in many journals, including Poetry magazine, the Georgia Review, the Paris Review, and Shenandoah, and have been anthologized in The Norton Introduction to Literature180 More: Extraordinary Poems for Every Day, and Vinegar and Char: Southern Food in Verse. Her nonfiction book Framing Innocence (New Press, 2010) won the Studs & Ida Terkel Award.

Powell has been awarded a Literature Fellowship from the National Endowment for the Arts and received four Individual Artist Excellence Awards from the Ohio Arts Council (three in poetry and one in nonfiction).  She worked for 20 years as a Writer in the Schools in grades K-12 in a wide range of schools for the New Jersey State Council on the Arts, the Geraldine R. Dodge Foundation, and the Ohio Arts Council’s Arts-in-Education Program.

A native of East Tennessee, Powell has lived in Oberlin, Ohio, since 1990. She teaches poetry and nonfiction in the creative writing program of Oberlin College, where she is the founder and director of Oberlin Writers-in-the-Schools training program for undergraduates.

Let us intoxicate ourselves on ink, since we lack the nectar of the gods.
— Flaubert
D.M. Aderibigbe

D.M. Aderibigbe

KAY SAUNDERS EMERGING POET AWARD: D.M. Aderibigbe's first book, How the End First Showed was selected by Aimee Nezhukumatathil for the Brittingham Prize in Poetryand is published by the University of Wisconsin Press, November 2018 and selected as one of the best books of 2018 by C. Leigh McInnis for Psychedelic Literature. His poems have appeared in The Nation, Poetry Review, Callaloo, jubilat, World Literature Today,  and elsewhere. He's received fellowships from The James Merrill House, Banff, OMI International Arts Center, Ucross Foundation, Jentel Foundation and Boston University where he received his MFA in Creative Writing as a BU fellow, and also received a Robert Pinsky Global Fellowship. Born and raised in Nigeria, he is currently a PhD student at Florida State University, Tallahassee.