Minutes of the Wisconsin Fellowship of Poets General Meeting April 30, 2022

The meeting was called to order at 8:31 AM.

1. Conference organizer Nancy Austin welcomed participants to the conference. Members of the Board of Directors and poets attending their first WFOP conference were introduced. First-time attendees include: Jocelyn Boor, Anneliese Finke, John Fritzell, Michael Gadzik, Jerod Santek, Katrina Serwe, R.B. Simon, Janet Smith, Phillip Tabakan and Adrienne Wallner.

2. Co-Presidents Cathryn Cofell and Ronnie Hess greeted attendees. They thanked Nancy Austin for organizing the conference, and Joan Johannes and Kathleen Serley for their efforts on the coming Fall conference in Wausau. They also thanked immediate Past President Jan Chronister for her six years of service, Fred Kreutz who is stepping down after ten years as Muse Contest chair, and Nathan Reid, who is leaving as the board's 40-and-Under representative. They provided an update on what they have been doing since taking over as of the first of the year and encouraged members to become more engaged with the WFOP through work on committees and other volunteer opportunities.

3. Fall 2019 General Meeting Minutes: Motion by Kimberly Blanchette, seconded by Yvette Flaten to approve the minutes; motion carried.

4. Priorities for 2022-2025 – Board Survey Results: Co-President Hess summarized the results of a survey of board members, and asked WFOP members to review its findings and to share their ideas with the co-presidents. Co-President Cofell invited persons to serve on a communications committee that will review the Fellowship's quarterly newsletter, weekly calendar, website and use of social media.

5. Code of Ethics: Co-President Cofell reported that the Board of Directors had approved a code of ethics.

6. Constitution and Bylaws Revision – First Reading: Co-President Hess presented the revised Constitution and Bylaws recommended by the Board of Directors. The committee preparing the revisions included herself, Sandra Lindow and Ed Werstein. She encouraged WFOP members to review the documents and recommend any changes they felt were necessary to her and the other committee members. Final action by members will be taken at the Fall membership meeting. Two changes were made to the Bylaws by the Board prior to approval:

Article II, Section 2: the word "invitation" was replaced by "approval" to read: "A person lacking only the residential qualifications may become an Active member upon approval of the president and the membership chair. A member must be a resident of Wisconsin to hold office."

Article II, Section 3, Subsection (c): the word "cannot" was replaced by "does not" to read: "A Continued member is an Active member who does not pay dues, either permanently or temporarily, but whose membership is approved by the Board of Directors."

7. Reports accepted by the Board of Directors by consent were shared:

- a. Treasurers' Reports
- b. Calendar Business Manager Report
- c. Calendar Editors' Report
- d. Regional Vice President Reports
- e. Membership Chair Report
- f. Bramble Report
- g. Contest Reports (Triad, Muse, Chapbook, Student)
- h. Webmaster Report

i. Poet Laureate Commission Report
j. Social Media Report
k. Donations Report
l. 75th Anniversary Conference Report

8. Fall Conference: October 21-22 at the Jefferson Street Inn in Wausau. Keynote speaker will be Barbara Crooker, and some of the events will be held in collaboration with other Wausau arts groups.

9. Acknowledgement of Deceased Members, Family and Friends: Vice President Christina Kubasta read the names of Fellowship members who had died since the last conference, held in 2019 before cancellation of subsequent gatherings due to the pandemic: Lewis Bosworth, Brent Christianson, Barbara "Barb" Cranford, Laurel Devitt, Rob Ganson, James Gollata, Phiroze "Phil" Lovji Hansotia, Palmer Haynes, Steven Hull, Patricia Jameson, Kristian Kay, John Lehman, Marcie Lietzke, Laurel Mills, Helen Padway, Elmae Theresa Passineau, Kathleen "Katy" Hayes Phillips, Lorelee Sienkowski, Marie Tonnon, Marion H. Youngquist and Josephine "Josie" Zell.

Christina read a poem by one of the deceased, Katy Phillips, entitled "After a Reading":

Maybe it was the poetry and singing, maybe the drums and dancing, but we are not ready for the night to end, so head east through a darkened city

until we reach the lake and there, floating free of tree limbs, city lights, and rooftops, find a full moon, white against the dark sky its path shimmering bright across the still water.

We park, our shadowy figures sitting in a darkened car on an empty street. "Up to no good," a neighbor might say, not noticing our age, our white hair,

but what good would it do to leave such a sight, on such a night until we have our fill,

until we remember other moons in other times and places, singing our memories into the dark night before turning our faces toward home.

10. Motion by Kimberly Blanchette, seconded by BJ Best to adjourn the meeting; motion carried. Meeting adjourned at 9:07 AM

Contest Winners Announced at the Spring 2022 Conference

Muse Contest (Fred Kreutz, chair) – three years awarded because conferences the two previous years were canceled

2022:

1st Place: Peter Blewett, "You Should Always Keep It Ready" 2nd Place: Yvette Flaten, "El Ultimo Para Hoy" 3rd Place: Maureen Adams, "Rip It, Rip It" Honorable mentions: Jeri McCormick, "A Certain Teacher Sends Us"; Jan Chronister, "Trimming the Tree"; Karen Haley, "Wistful" 2021: 1st Place: Kathleen Phillips, "A Good Time for the Truth" 2nd Place: Jeff Glover, "The Broken Apple Tree" 3rd Place: David Southward, "The Pelican" Honorable mentions: Judith Barisonzi, "This is the Way We Live Now"; Bruce Taylor, "Full Disclosure"; Amy Phimister, "Dyskinesia" 2020: 1st Place: Sandra Lindow, "All Along Junction Trail" 2nd Place: Gail Sosinsky, "Driving to the Diagnosis..." 3rd Place: Susan Martell Hueber, "Instead of a Bicycle" Honorable mentions: Peggy Trojan, "First Night (I leave you at Memory Care)"; Judy Kolosso, "Bird (I'm always amazed)"; Paula Schulz, "Prelude to the first day of Kindergarten"; Thomas Erickson, "Kirby Puckett Has a Big Butt"; Bruce Dethlefsen, "Losing Purchase"

Chapbook Contest (Naomi Cochran, chair)

1st Place: John Fritzell, *Thuribles*2nd Place: Peggy Trojan, *Pa*3rd Place: R.B. Simon, *The Good Truth*Honorable Mention: Emily Bowles, *The Satisfactory Nothing of Girls*