2018 Lorine Niedecker Prize

from the Council of Wisconsin Writers

Ed Werstein of Milwaukee has won the Lorine Niedecker Poetry Award for five individual poems. Honorable mention goes to Margaret Benbow of Madison. One of the winner poems is below:


taps me on the shoulder
and says she wants to take me to bed.

I tell her I'm going to finish
this chapter and then I'll join her
and she'll get what she's after.

Sleep is impatient
keeps poking me
insisting I pay her some attention.

I think she is jealous of my books.

Sleep slips a mickey into my herbal tea
and has her way with me.

I wake at three
and realize she's left me again.

She's thrown my book on the floor
and hasn't even bothered
to turn out the light.